Alto Hotel On Bourke Reviews & Ratings

Hotel Reviews & Ratings by Guests & Travellers

Alto Hotel On Bourke provides our hotel reviews by travellers like you.

Find out what guests that have stayed with us think about Alto Hotel On Bourke. We provide real guests' opinion about our hotel, written only by our guests.

Most Recent Hotel Reviews on Alto Hotel On Bourke

10/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 10/10

It's everything I want from a place to stay whilst I am doing business in Melbourne. Convenient: Close to Southern Cross Station to catch the Skybus to and from the airport. Safe and clean - important as a female guest. Environmentally outstanding - aligned with my values and corporate commitment. Friendly - staff are second to none; efficient, informative, warm and accommodating.

by guest from Sydney, Australia
Posted on: 03 March 2011 04:46:30 PM
7/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 7/10
Staff : 6.5/10
Service : 7.5/10
Comfort : 6.5/10
Value for money : 7/10
Location : 6.5/10

the first night I spent in the room 201 was next to the street and was rather noisy with the tram passing by all evenng/night long. The food at the restaurant was well served and presented but quality of the ingrdients was very average.

by guest from Christchurch, New Zealand
Posted on: 03 March 2011 01:23:54 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 9.5/10
Staff : 7.5/10
Service : 8.5/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 10/10

We would have loved to have had the downstairs dining area open a little later as we came down right before 9pm and were told we couldn't be served as they were closing. However, loved the apartment and hotel.

by guest from Sydney, Australia
Posted on: 02 March 2011 03:12:17 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 9/10

Thought the Alto was a great hotel, and a pleasant experience

by guest from Sydney, Australia
Posted on: 02 March 2011 11:26:31 AM
9/10 Reviewed By: young couples
Cleanliness : 8/10
Staff : 9/10
Service : 9/10
Comfort : 9/10
Value for money : 8/10
Location : 8/10

We had a lovely time at the hotel, it was in a great location and everyone there was very nice and helpful. We had a spa apartment on the top floor which was perfectly suited for 2 people. We especially loved the spa. The only thing we found was that there was no DVD player in the room, even though it was specified. We were a bit disappointed at that as we had brought a couple of movies to watch. If it was anywhere in the room we couldn't find it! Apart from that it was great. I'd stay again.

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 01 March 2011 12:29:39 PM
8/10 Reviewed By: young couples
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 7/10
Service : 7/10
Comfort : 6/10
Value for money : 7/10
Location : 9/10

This was our second stay at your hotel, though the room was not as good this time. We love the location of the hotel and the modern feel, but our room was quite noisy (outside noise, and also people passing our room in the corridor as we were right near the elevator). We were disappointed about the lack of room service on Saturday night. Also, while we love a lot of the environmentally friendly aspects, the shower was not good, as it was so weak. We do love how close the hotel is to Spencer St station and the staff are excellent - but unsure if we'd stay here again.

by guest from Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posted on: 28 February 2011 08:38:45 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 10/10

The hotel provided a great introduction to Melbourne. The staff were very friendly, and it was good that we were allowed to check in early after a long flight. The room was comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed the breakfasts and the supply of coffee.

by guest from Martley, Worcester, United Kingdom
Posted on: 28 February 2011 12:22:03 AM
8/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 8/10
Service : 7/10
Comfort : 7.5/10
Value for money : 6.5/10
Location : 8.5/10

Great location, good value as well

by guest from London, United Kingdom
Posted on: 26 February 2011 01:26:31 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 9/10
Comfort : 8/10
Value for money : 8/10
Location : 8/10

Generally everything was very good. Staff on reception always very helpful and cheerful. Had to ask for housekeeping to replenish a couple of things which they had forgotten, but that's not a big issue. Thank you.

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 25 February 2011 09:30:08 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: families with young children
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 8/10
Location : 8.5/10

Terrific - we loved it. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Thank you! Nice to be able to recycle. The chef who did breakfast on Sunday morning (and the weekday nights, I believe, though we didn't eat any dinners there) was really terrific - his cooking was delicious.

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 24 February 2011 09:29:20 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 10/10

The staff at the check-in counter was very, very helpful and we loved staying at your hotel. There was one minor negative issue, and that was some noise from the neighbouring room sometimes during the night - it sounded like some young people had a get-together there and made a lot of talking. But not a real problem - our overall impression was that everything was perfect and we will definitely use your hotel again next time we come back to Melbourne.

by guest from Copenhagen, Denmark
Posted on: 24 February 2011 03:09:28 AM
9/10 Reviewed By: with friends
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 8.5/10
Service : 8.5/10
Comfort : 8.5/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 9/10

Great hotel good location

by guest from Home Hill, Australia
Posted on: 22 February 2011 05:26:10 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 9/10
Service : 9/10
Comfort : 7.5/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 9.5/10

It was great - very close to transport. Love that it is 100% wind powered. Didn\'t like the soap products in the bathroom. Great to get The Age. Fantastic that the wi-fi was free.

by guest from Auckland, New Zealand
Posted on: 22 February 2011 01:05:46 PM
7/10 Reviewed By: young couples
Cleanliness : 8/10
Staff : 8/10
Service : 7.5/10
Comfort : 6.5/10
Value for money : 8/10
Location : 6.5/10

Very nice and clean hotel - location was very good to Spenser St station, however a walk away from a lot of the good restaurants to the East of the CBD. We found the bed a bit uncomfortable - sagged in the middle. The breakfast package was a good start to the morning and thankfully served until 9.30 to accommodate people like us who had a sleep in! All staff were very friendly and helpful.

by guest from Perth, Australia
Posted on: 22 February 2011 11:46:38 AM
8/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 8.5/10
Staff : 8.5/10
Service : 7.5/10
Comfort : 9/10
Value for money : 8.5/10
Location : 6.5/10

v.good

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 21 February 2011 11:16:53 AM
8/10 Reviewed By: with friends
Cleanliness : 8/10
Staff : 8/10
Service : 8/10
Comfort : 7/10
Value for money : 7/10
Location : 9/10

A great location. Quiet and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed to find that the upstairs bedrooms and bathrooms were serviced but the downstairs bedroom and bathroom weren\'t. Wasn\'t a problem but would have been nice.

by guest from Ashburton, New Zealand
Posted on: 20 February 2011 04:40:06 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 8.5/10
Staff : 8.5/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 7.5/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 7.5/10

good

by guest from Newcastle, Australia
Posted on: 17 February 2011 04:21:38 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 7/10
Service : 7/10
Comfort : 8.5/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 9.5/10

Comfortable and easy to access.

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 17 February 2011 12:39:59 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 9/10
Service : 9/10
Comfort : 9/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 8/10

We enjoyed the total experience of our stay at the Alto - from the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of our room, the service, the inclusive breakfast, to the added extras - tea, coffee, fruit available all day to guests. We would highly recommend the Alto to our friends and look forward to a return visit. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

by guest from Sunshine Coast, Australia
Posted on: 15 February 2011 06:37:34 PM
8/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 8/10
Staff : 9/10
Service : 8/10
Comfort : 7.5/10
Value for money : 8.5/10
Location : 8/10

We were very happy with our stay at the hotel. The view from the first floor room was not good but we were not there to look out of the window. Breakfast on 2 of the 3 mornings was good, on the 3rd morning the bacon was a bit fatty with not much meat. However the food and the buffet was good.

by guest from Sydney, Australia
Posted on: 15 February 2011 03:22:29 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: families with young children
Cleanliness : 9/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 8/10
Value for money : 10/10
Location : 10/10

It was easy even with small kids!

by guest from Kouvola, Finland
Posted on: 13 February 2011 02:35:06 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: with friends
Cleanliness : 10/10
Staff : 10/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 9/10
Value for money : 8.5/10
Location : 10/10

We enjoyed our visit, the staff were all very friendly, the meals were great. Only one problem and that was I thought I had booked a room with no stairs, and my husband & his Uncle both use walking sticks but we manage to survive them. That was the only disappointment as I thought I had booked a two bed apartment with out stairs.

by guest from Melbourne, Australia
Posted on: 10 February 2011 09:15:58 PM
10/10 Reviewed By: mature couples
Cleanliness : 9.5/10
Staff : 9.5/10
Service : 9.5/10
Comfort : 10/10
Value for money : 9.5/10
Location : 9.5/10

We stayed in one of the Studio Rooms. As our flight arrived early morning, the reception staff were very helpful in getting us into our room at 12.30pm, we decied to go to the zoo to fill in time, staff gave us all the information we needed in where to by tram tickets and what number etc.. the Alto is a two minute walk from Southern Cross Station and trams stop not far from the from door.The room layout is spacious and exceptionaly comfortable. We were in Melbourne for a workshop, often returning late - fortunatley Alto has a wonderful dinner menue to choose from - well presented, delicous and great value (do not miss the desserts). In the mornings it was such a delight to be greated by the friendly and professional staff at Breakfast time, there is something for everyone on the menue. We would highly reccomend the Alto and look forward to staying again on our future trips to Melbourne.

by guest from Darwin, Australia
Posted on: 09 February 2011 04:49:58 PM
9/10 Reviewed By: families with older children
Cleanliness : 8.5/10
Staff : 9/10
Service : 10/10
Comfort : 8/10
Value for money : 9/10
Location : 10/10

I loved having a room with real windows I could open and the view of the trees on Bourke St. I found the staff among the nicest of any hotel I\'ve ever stayed at, particularly the room staff and other employees one would encounter in the lift. I also appreciated the modern bathroom with its spa bath and beautiful non-slip tiles. The kitchen was a bit disappointing but I guess most people come to shop and dine out.

by guest from Brisbane, Australia
Posted on: 08 February 2011 12:34:38 PM
7/10 Reviewed By: solo travellers
Cleanliness : 6.5/10
Staff : 7/10
Service : 7/10
Comfort : 7/10
Value for money : 8/10
Location : 7/10

Great, no problems

by guest from Brisbane, Australia
Posted on: 07 February 2011 12:39:01 PM
More Reviews :
   << PREVIOUS   123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627282930313233343536373839404142434445464748495051525354555657585960616263646566676869707172737475767778798081828384858687888990919293949596979899100101102103104105106107108109110111112113114115116117118119120121   NEXT>>